spring fling!

So, here’s the thing: I had this grand ambition of starting off 2011 as a Blogger, which is clearly insane, as I am not a consistent writer in any venue other than my online journal on a private forum. I can’t even seem to write for my JOB on a daily basis, so why I thought starting a blog would be the Best Idea for 2011 Ever is completely beyond me.

However, I am happy that I have a nice place where I can post the projects I’m working on, so as to easily share them on other blogs.

I spent much of last fall sewing on a quilt top, which I have finally finished, and which I’ll photograph soon. Today, however, I started work on a spring table runner as part of the Stumbles & Stitches sew-along. I’m very happy to participate in this particular sewing project as Jenny and Angel have been my biggest inspirations for sewing in the last year or so. They have been incredible reminders that I shouldn’t wait for perfection, but should just take up needle and fabric and try something. To that end, I’ve made a LOT of things in the last year and I have big plans for 2011: sundress for me, dress for Birdie, pants for Eliot, and on and on. The runner project was a nice spot to pause in April from clothes or quilts and try something just because! Table runners I suppose can be functional, but I think of them as just pretty, and it’s fun to make something just to be pretty!

Today was a pretty day to do something pretty, so I opened the window in my beautiful work space to let spring air flow through the room and over me. I’m a bit of a tv junkie, so I streamed last week’s NCIS while I worked.

This doesn’t even begin to show how perfect the day was or the sunlight or to give a sense of the breeze, but this is my space:

2011-04-03 (5)

(like my ironing board cover? I used the tutorial from Sewing in No Time, Sunkissed by Moda fabric, which I bought at The Quilting Squares shop, here in Franklin.)

My fabric for the runner:
2011-04-03 (6)

I bought the linen at Textile Fabrics on Saturday, when the children were their very best fabric-store selves, I was so surprised & delighted. I’m using Sunkissed scraps from my ironing board cover, Nicey Jane stripe, some fussy cut Anna Maria Horner Little Folks “Village Path” that was in my scrap basket, two colors of Jackie Shapiro’s sweet daisy fabric from several years ago, and a beautiful piece of a vintage sheet, which was the inspiration for all of my other choices. Lavender, green, and a golden yellow together? Pure spring and heaven!

I couldn’t quite get my head around the idea of a zig-zag pattern like the runner that Jenny & Angel featured from Rashida Coleman-Hale’s book, so I went hunting for another pattern that suited my skill level (pure beginner) and interest and ended up with this sweet one from Moda Bake Shop. By the time the children woke from naps, I had finished one NCIS, one Dr. Who, and most of my 2.5″ squares:

2011-04-03 (2)

Once nap was over, I found myself irresistibly drawn outside, where I spent two hours debating play structure placement, fixing snacks, and finding habitats for inchworms:
2011-04-03 (23)

Perhaps tomorrow, between running, working, and mothering, I’ll finish cutting the triangles.

2 responses to “spring fling!

  • merri

    i LOVE your quilted cover. my house came with a built-in ironing board in a cupboard, which is brill…sadly, its cover has no padding at all, which is strange and makes ironing hard. i need to figure out how to add padding under there.

  • Jenny

    I love the colors and prints you picked, and can’t wait to see the finished result. It’s such fun seeing the various directions in which everyone’s headed. That pattern doesn’t look so easy to me, you are ambitious!!

    And thank you for the kind words. It is both thrilling and sobering to think we inspire anyone, you know? But, definitely encouraging too.

    Keep up the good work, lady! I’ve added you to my blog roll.

Leave a Reply

